Top Ten Tuesday: Book ’em, Danno!

October 10: Bookish Jobs I Would Do for Free (Real or Imaginary) (Submitted by Susan @ Bloggin’ bout Books)

Top Ten Tuesday was created by The Broke and the Bookish in June of 2010 and was moved to That Artsy Reader Girl in January of 2018. It was born of a love of lists, a love of books, and a desire to bring bookish friends together.

That Artsy Reader Girl

None is my immediate thought, but this is not true. I have done volunteer work for bookish jobs before such as shelving books at a public library, being a beta reader, and reading books for books on tape for the visually impaired (this last one was an exceptionally long time ago).

  1. Shelving books at the public library – I used to do this as a volunteer and if it is still a thing, I would do it again.
  2. Literacy Volunteer – teaching adults to read. Illinois, and I would think every state, has a program for Volunteer Adult Literacy Tutors.
  3. Beta Reader – another item I have done before and would do again.
  4. Little Free Library curator. Do they use a curator, or is it a host? The Little Libraries seem to have disappeared from my neighborhood recently.
  5. Librarian at The Midnight Library. I am a gifted listener.
    • “Librarians have knowledge. They guide you to the right books. The right worlds. They find the best places. Like soul-enhanced search engines.”
      ― Matt Haig, The Midnight Library
  6. Book Fairy – putting a book, instead of money, under the pillow of children who have lost a tooth.
  7. Perfect Book Finder – I realize many Librarians already do this – my twist is I can just tell by speaking to someone briefly the exact book that will fill their soul. — Found it! Savoy book butler.
  8. Citadel librarian from the series A Song of Ice and Fire.
  9. Repair the binding on old books.
  10. Book Blog! – Making list upon list upon list of best books for various subjects and then actually publishing these lists.
    • Did you know I’ve done an extensive list for those going through, or are on the verge of going through, menopause? Yep, I have. I have not yet published it because I am suddenly self-conscious about growing older. I am not used to being self-conscious either, so I do not know where this is coming from.

20 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Book ’em, Danno!

  1. Being a book fairy sounds like a good idea! Kids using their imaginations and discovering a cute children’s story is always a pro. 🙂 Thanks a bunch for visiting my website today, too!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. A Book Fairy is such a perfect idea. That should totally be a thing.

    Little Free Library operators are called stewards. Mine should be going up next week. I’ve had it for a year, but I’ve been waiting for a front yard re-do and approval from my HOA to put it up. I’m so excited to get it going! We don’t have any LFLs in my neighborhood, so I’m hoping it will be popular!

    I’m interested in a list of books about going through menopause since I’m just about there (peri-menopause) at the moment. Aging can be tough. I totally get it.

    Happy TTT!

    Susan
    http://www.blogginboutbooks.com

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I wish there’d been a Book Fairy when I was losing teeth! I also really love the fact that blogs allow us to suggest (and read) really specific types of books – the kind of tailored recs you don’t find in many other formats – like your menopause list.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment